Subscribe >>

Alumni Notes


John Akinyemi, PhD, MPH '80, retired in 2006 from the U.S. Marine Corps, where he served as the Industrial Hygiene Program Manager.

Diane Becker, ScD '84, MPH '79, RN, is a professor of Medicine, director of the GeneSTAR Research Program, and director of the Johns Hopkins Center for Health Promotion. She received the 2008 Johns Hopkins University Distinguished Alumni Award, and her work has ranged from community-based trials in minority cardiovascular risk reduction, to U.S. federal health policy with a stint in the U.S. Senate, and more recently to extended research in the genetics of cardiovascular disease in high-risk families.

Ann Biro-Thompson, MPH '83, reports the following career highlights: public health nursing work in a refugee camp in Ban Vaini, Thailand; writing, overseeing and evaluation of child survival proposals and grants; international public health consulting jobs; program analysis at USAID; medical mission work in Malawi; a return to the arena of international public health in the near future.

Gus Birkhead, MD, MPH '85, was recently appointed deputy commissioner of the New York State Department of Health's Office of Public Health. He is also chairman of the U.S. National Vaccine Advisory Committee (NVAC). In April, the American Medical Association honored him with the Nathan Davis Award for outstanding career public service at the state level.

Susan Freisem Birkhead, MPH '85, BSN, was appointed in 2007 director of the Samaritan Hospital School of Nursing in Troy, N.Y., where she has taught since 1997.

Carl Dieffenbach, PhD '84, was recently appointed director of the Division of AIDS (DAIDS) at the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases, a component of the National Institutes of Health.

Amado Freire, MPH '86, is division chief of Pulmonary Critical Care and Sleep Medicine and was promoted to professor of Medicine at University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, Tenn.

Daniel E. Jimenez, MD, MPH '87, FACEP, FACOEM, is the medical director of the Bureau of Engraving and Printing, U. S. Department of the Treasury. He serves as a representative of the Transportation Sub-section of the American College of Occupational and Environmental Medicine House of Delegates.

Alan Lambert, MHS '89, is founder and president of Prosalud Inter-America Foundation (PSIA), which works with NGOs to improve reproductive health in South American countries.

William Lyerly, MPH '83, is director of International Affairs and Special Assistant for Global Health Security to the Assistant Secretary for Health Affairs, U.S. Department of Homeland Security. Before that, he served as Director of the Office of WMD Operations and Incident Management, and as Science Advisor to the DHS Under Secretary for Science & Technology, following a position as Director of the Office of Bio-Countermeasures Coordination.

Raymond Martin, MPH '85, received the Distinguished Service Award of the International Health Section of the American Public Health Association (APHA) for his work in re-energizing the Section. Currently he is executive director of Christian Connections for International Health, a network of organizations and individuals involved in global health.

Ruth McKay, PhD, MPH '81, received Honorable Mention for the 2008 Lawrence R. Klein Award in Labor Economics for a Monthly Labor Review article on a Baltimore African Community entitled, "A Black Community with Advanced Labor Force Characteristics, 1960."

Patricia O'Campo, PhD '89, is the 2008 recipient of the Greg Alexander Award for advancing public health knowledge through epidemiology and applied research aimed at improving the health of women, children and families. The award recognizes researchers who are engaged in creating new data systems, new methods for measurement or analysis, new information (based on data from a variety of sources whether it be surveillance systems, evaluation data or primary data collection methods) or even new conceptual frameworks.

Elayne Kornblatt Phillips, PhD '82, MPH '77, received a NIOSH award examining the "Impact of Needlestick Safety & Prevention Act (HR5178) on Hospital Worker Injury."

Robin Prothro, MPH '85, is executive director of the Maryland Affiliate of Susan G. Komen for the Cure.

Lynn Silver, MPH '83, is assistant commissioner for New York City's Health Department on chronic disease prevention since 2004, after 15 years of teaching public health in Brazil, working with the consumer movement on access to health care and medicines, and a stint in International Health at the Karolinska Institute.

Sandy Singer, MPH '83, writes, "After working with the uninsured and underinsured populations in rural Vermont, I am currently directing a small nonprofit that works to reduce the risk of fire and falls among the rural elderly."

Andrea Kidd Taylor, DrPH '89, was elected to serve a four-year term on the APHA's Executive Board in November 2007. Currently she is on faculty at Morgan State University's School of Community Health and Policy in Baltimore, Md.

Victor Vogel, MHS '86, is leaving the University of Pittsburgh after 13 years as professor of Medicine and Epidemiology to become the national vice president for research with the American Cancer Society (ACS) in Atlanta. He will be responsible for the strategic direction, management and development of the intramural and extramural research programs of the ACS. Vogel will also serve as the scientific adviser to the Washington, D.C., lobbying office of ACS.

Support JHSPH

The Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health strives every day to keep millions of people around the world safe from injury or illness.

Make a Gift